SONIC BRICKS is music theatre beyond any known framework. Music, text, song, choreography, video and scenography constitute independent 'pieces' that are continually put together and broken up again in ever new constellations.
SONIC BRICKS is a collaboration between Holland House and the composer Juliana Hodkinson, created as a work in progress at three workshops.

SONIC BRICKS is inspired by the essay 11.1837: Of the Refrain by the philosophers Gilles Deleuze and Félix Guatttari. "A wall of sound, or at least a wall with some sonic bricks in it", they write.
The essay begins with the words:
"A child, gripped by fear in the dark, comforts itself by humming."
The child's song builds a wall of sound, creating order in the surrounding chaos. The song creates a refuge, a home.
SONIC BRICKS seeks to create new homes. These abodes are not fixed in the normal sense of the word, but rather move around continually as the pieces are put together, broken up and put together again …

The text is an excerpt from Ursula Andkjær Olsen’s breakthrough collection of poems Ægteskabet mellem Vejen og Udvejen:
"Welcome to us! Mankind is magnificent. So many people, so much intelligence. Or… The only species to have been able to climb the shoulders of its ancestors. For millennia. It takes long legs. It takes long legs and wide shoulders. The only shoulder-standing animal. Mankind has slowly elevated itself by way of accumulations of non-degradable garden chairs. This must be considered a kind of spiritual obesity!".


Text: excerpts from Ægteskabet mellem Vejen og Udvejen by Ursula Andkjær Olsen
Composer: Juliana Hodkinson
Direction/ Set design: Jacob F. Schokking

Rikke Lylloff (actress)
Jacob Bloch Jespersen (Baryton)
Jacob Stage (Dancer)

Ensemble: Kammerensemble für Neue Musik, Berlin
Ringela Riemke: Cello
Ekkehard Windrich: Violin
Theo Nabicht: Clarinets
Tobias Schwencke: Piano
Alexandre Babel: Percussion

Lights: Peter Plesner
Sound: Jesper Andersen
System technique: Turpin Napoleon Djurhuus
Video graphic: Jakob Thorbek and Lotte Kryger Broe
Producer: Traudi Palsbøll

SONIC BRICKS is a co-production by Holland House, Kammerensemble für Neue Musik, Berlin and Wundergrund Music Festival, Copenhagen